REAL Treehugger: Tim Robinson

Tim the treehugger
Tim lives in Dryden, Ontario, Canada with his wife and two children.

“I grew up surrounded by 80 acres of forest that served as both playground and work zone for me and my siblings. My parents instilled in us a love of nature and the value of a dollar – Dad is a master of the reuse and recycle lifestyle with a strong resistance to throwing away anything that might serve useful ‘someday’.”

“Dryden is a typical ‘one horse’ town: the economy of the community rises and falls with the success (or failure) of the local pulp and paper mill. At the hockey rink or on the baseball field, my friends and I were always aware of rumours of an upcoming shut down or layoff – it was a regular part of the conversation at our dinner table. As I got older, the mill provided the summer employment that paid for my Bachelor of Science degree and helped me purchase my first car.”

“After university, I followed the footsteps of my father and grandfather by choosing a career in my hometown pulp and paper mill. Over the past 20+ years I’ve worked my way up from the call crew to steam plant shift engineer and I plan to spend the rest of my career here. The forest industry is an important chapter in my life story and a vital part of the economy of my community.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

